Getting Started

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated (AKA) is a prestigious organization with a rich history and tradition of excellence. Founded in 1908 at Howard University, AKA is the first Greek-letter sorority founded by African-American college women. Dedicated to promoting sisterhood, scholarship, and service, the sorority has become known for its commitment to uplifting communities and empowering women.

As part of its legacy, AKA has identified a set of guiding principles known as the Twenty Pearls. These pearls serve as a framework for members to live purposeful lives and make a positive impact in their communities. In this article, we will explore the significance of AKA’s Twenty Pearls and discuss each pearl in detail.

1. Sisterhood

Sisterhood is the first and foremost pearl of AKA. It emphasizes the importance of fostering strong bonds of friendship and unity among members. AKA sisters support and uplift each other, providing a network of support that extends beyond the college years. Through sisterhood, AKA strives to create lifelong relationships based on trust, respect, and shared values.

AKA encourages its members to cultivate a sense of sisterhood not only within the organization, but also in their personal and professional lives. By promoting unity and collaboration, AKA empowers its members to achieve their goals and aspirations while uplifting those around them.

2. Scholarship

Scholarship is an important pearl of AKA that underscores the organization’s commitment to academic excellence. AKA encourages its members to prioritize education and intellectual growth. The sorority provides numerous resources and opportunities to support academic achievement, including scholarships, mentoring programs, and study groups.

AKA recognizes the importance of education as a tool for empowerment and encourages lifelong learning. By promoting scholarship, the sorority aims to equip its members with the knowledge and skills necessary to excel in their chosen fields and make meaningful contributions to society.

3. Leadership

Leadership is another cornerstone of the AKA’s Twenty Pearls. The sorority believes in empowering women to become effective leaders in their communities and beyond. AKA offers various leadership development programs and workshops to help members enhance their leadership skills and abilities.

Through leadership training, AKA equips its members with the tools they need to make a positive impact in their respective spheres of influence. Whether it’s leading a community service project, advocating for social justice, or spearheading a professional initiative, AKA encourages its members to embrace their leadership potential and create change.

4. Customer Service

Service is a core value of AKA and is encapsulated in the fourth of the Twenty Pearls. AKA emphasizes the importance of giving back to the community and making a difference in the lives of others. The sorority encourages its members to participate in meaningful service projects that address social issues and promote positive change.

AKA’s commitment to service is reflected in its many community outreach programs, such as health fairs, educational initiatives, and mentoring programs. By dedicating their time and resources to service, AKA members embody the sorority’s mission to uplift and empower communities.

5. Cultural Awareness

Cultural awareness is an essential aspect of AKA’s identity and is embodied in the fifth of the Twenty Pearls. AKA recognizes and celebrates the diverse cultures and experiences of its members and strives to promote understanding and appreciation of different backgrounds.

AKA encourages its members to engage in cultural activities, including art, music, literature and cuisine, to broaden their horizons and promote cross-cultural understanding. By embracing diversity and promoting cultural awareness, AKA creates an inclusive and enriching environment for its members.
In summary, the Twenty Pearls of AKA serve as guiding principles that reflect the core values and mission of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated. Through sisterhood, scholarship, leadership, service, and cultural awareness, AKA empowers its members to lead purposeful lives and make a positive impact in their communities. These pearls are a testament to AKA’s enduring legacy and commitment to excellence.


What are the 20 pearls of AKA?

The 20 pearls of AKA refer to a set of principles and values upheld by Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, one of the oldest African-American Greek-lettered sororities. These pearls serve as guiding principles for members of the organization.

What is the significance of the 20 pearls of AKA?

The 20 pearls of AKA represent the core values and ideals that members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated strive to embody. These principles guide their actions, service to the community, and personal development.

Can you list some of the 20 pearls of AKA?

While the specific pearls may vary slightly depending on the source, some of the commonly recognized pearls of AKA include: sisterhood, scholarship, service, character, honor, loyalty, leadership, responsibility, respect, initiative, self-reliance, integrity, courage, perseverance, grace, humility, compassion, wisdom, faith, and love.

How do members of AKA incorporate the 20 pearls into their lives?

Members of AKA strive to embody the 20 pearls in their personal lives, academic pursuits, professional careers, and community service. They aim to exhibit these values through their interactions with others, leadership roles, commitment to scholarship, and dedication to serving the needs of the community.

Are the 20 pearls of AKA exclusive to members of the sorority?

While the 20 pearls of AKA hold special significance for members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, the principles they represent—such as sisterhood, service, and leadership—are universally valued and can be embraced by individuals outside the organization as well.